Board of Directors


11 (002).jpg

MHA President - L. Kim Gibson

Kim is a Mississippi native, and a charter member of the Mississippi Humanist Association (MHA). Kim has served in every MHA officer position, and looks forward to seeing the organization's continued growth. Kim, a paralegal, regularly volunteers as a clinic escort at a local women's clinic, and works to expand the humanist community in Mississippi.

meFrom AmyC.jpg

MHA Vice President- Amy Craig

Amy has lived in Mississippi for 10 years and was raised in an Atheist household.  She works in health care and immigration rights and for the Rankin County Democratic Party.  She loves being on the board of the Mississippi Humanist Association because it gives her an opportunity to meet new people and to make Mississippi a more welcoming place for secularists.

26 - Copy.jpg

MHA Secretary - Tom Dennis

Tom has been a humanist since rejecting religion in his teens, and he was asked to leave his church for asking too many questions.  Originally from Michigan, Tom is  a recent transplant to Mississippi and he serves as the Director of the Clinical Genetics Lab at a local hospital in Jackson.


MHA Treasurer - Stephen Frank

Stephen is a charter member of the Mississippi Humanist Association, and has served as Treasurer since 2016. Stephen was brought up in the Pentecostal church, but stepped away as he examined the church teaching. Stephen works with the local Democratic Party organization in south Mississippi where he resides, and enjoys hosting a local atheist monthly meetup group.

amy b head.jpg

MHA Communications - Amy Blue

Amy, originally from Illinois having moved to Mississippi in 2006, was raised in a non-religious household. Upon her move, Amy was surprised by the influence religion has in South, and quickly searched for a group that promoted secular values. Amy owns her own internet marketing business and enjoys volunteering at Big House Books and participating in events for the Human Rights Campaign.

The Mississippi Humanist Association holds its regular Board of Directors meetings on the last Thursday of every month.  

For board meeting minutes, click here:  Meetings Notes

The 2018 Board of Directors - Kim Gibson (President); Amy Craig (Vice President); Tom Dennis (Secretary); Stephen Frank (Treasurer); Amy Blue (Communications).

Each member of the Board of Directors serves a term of two years.